Miss Crantson’s original Willow Tea Rooms at 217 Sauchiehall Street, were designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1903.
This historic building is of the greatest significance for Scotland’s design heritage. It is the only tea room where Mackintosh was in control of the exterior and the interior and his arrangement of the internal spaces and his designs for the furniture are unparalleled in his designs for tea rooms.
The building is recognised internationally for its importance as the only surviving tea room designed in its entirety by Charles Rennie Mackintosh.
The building has undergone restorations by 'The Willow Tea Rooms Trust', a registered charity and visitors can now enjoy the new exhibition, visitor centre, tea room and gift shop, showcasing the achievements of Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Margaret Macdonald Mackintosh and Miss Kate Cranston.